Advice for PR students

Posted: June 2, 2009 in Useful advice for students

Here’s a post by Richard Edelman, president of one of the largest multinational PR companies, with advice for PR students & grads.

Also, you might enjoy this video, also prepared by Edelman, that interviews senior PR people from the largest PR agencies worldwide on the skills of the PR pro of the future.

If you’re considering a career in PR, both of these are very useful to help you prepare for success 🙂

So, what do you think? What skills do you already have? What do you want to work on?

Comments
  1. Ashley Turner says:

    Oh my goodness, I just got really excited reading that post. I have some information on a marketing company, Jackson Dawson Marketing Solutions, and I’ve been terrified of contacting them because my friend who just graduated from Virginia Tech with a five-year program degree in Architecture is getting “no’s” or no responses with everyone she is emailing.

    The catch is my mom works with the boss’s girlfriend’s sister. Kind of a leap, but it got me the information and a bit of an in. But now that I read his post, I’m going to work on my resume and make sure to include all the social networks I’m utilizing. Facebook, MySpace, Blogger (need to start posting more blogs), PROpen Mic and Twitter. That’s a definite start.

    I’m so nervous! I think I’ll start on updating that now and get ready to email them.

    Also, at my friend’s graduation party, I spoke to a lady who’s friends with Janet’s mom and she’s in charge at a marketing firm (should have gotten her information…) and she was getting me amazing tips at trying to get a job. She said to email them my resume and ask when a good time is for me to stop by and introduce myself in person, and if they don’t respond, just show up. I’ll work on that.

    Thanks Dr. V.!