How many hands do you need?

Posted: September 24, 2010 in User-centered design examples
Tags:

Soda dispenser at popular fast food chain restaurant

I don’t know if it’s because most unhealthy things are so easy to do, but I do appreciate the user-centered design of this type of soda dispensers. I was able to hold a sandwich and a heavy purse, get my soda, AND take a picture at the same time – all this with only two hands. (Sometimes I need more, but can’t afford the upgrade at this time.)

Comments
  1. swoodall says:

    User-centered design for the multi-tasking society we have become, I find myself on-the-go all the time. I also enjoy the convenience of the soda dispenser, and it makes sense at fast food locations because they specialize in “fast food”.

    My question, though, refers to the flat square to-go boxes that some “fast food” restaurants use. Why are they put in normal bags? That simply shifts all food to one end and potentially spills into the bag, depending on the meal ordered. Just a random thought for someone else who has a laptop bag, food, and a phone in the hands while on-the-go.