Usability testing: Next steps

Posted: October 31, 2010 in Assignments
Tags: ,

Here is information about the next steps in this semester of CGT 512:

  1. Finalize your research instruments – email me when you’re done, so I can proofread for you once again.
  2. Pilot test your instruments and upload your pilot test video to the SharePoint site – email me when it’s up, so I can give you access to your research participants.
  3. Contact your research participants, schedule sessions.
  4. Run usability tests – make sure you use and follow the Important Instructions and the Checklist files on Blackboard.
  5. Aim to have all your data collected, saved, and organized before Thanksgiving break (starts Nov. 24).

Please let me know what questions you have, and please send me emails to update me on your progress, every time you have accomplished one of the steps above.

Do remember that I’d like to meet with each group on Nov. 11, anytime between 3:30-9:00 pm.

Bonus link: a blog post on the top 5 skills you need if you want to be an interface designer.

Commenting contest: leave a comment to let me know you’ve read this post. The 5 first to comment will be entered into a drawing for a small prize.

Comments
  1. korash says:

    We have been working on finalizing the research instruments. We will finish today and do pilot test tonight. As a rookie of this usability test area, finalizing the survey and instruments has not been easy as I thought before. I have realized that a lot of repetitive works should done with group members collaboration.

    We will be able to email you updating the pilot test video to the SharePoint site, maybe tomorrow morning.

    • Mihaela says:

      Yes, it takes a lot of attention to detail and many iterations to finalize a research instrument. Let me know how your instruments worked in the pilot test, and if you need to change anything, do so now. I’d be happy to look over your final packet of materials once again before you start collecting data with research participants.

  2. mystev says:

    Our pilot lest is also tonight and you will be updated afterwards. One question; is the comment contest about the main post about the “next steps” or the bonus link on the 5 steps to all designers need to follow?

  3. Our team is meeting to conduct a pilot test on Wednesday night. We will plan to contact you immediately after the files are uploaded to SharePoint and will address any questions that happen as we work on this.

    • Mihaela says:

      Sounds good! You will have my feedback on the latest version of the instruments on Monday, with enough time to make any changes by Wed. pm.

  4. The faculty group pilot test is tonight. I will make sure that we decide on a time for the November 11th meeting and we will be sure to email you and let you know.

  5. Mihaela says:

    Unfortunately, I didn’t get 5 comments on this post… (trying to trick people into confirming they’ve read this, because it’s important for class. I do hope the news gets across!)

    I used an online list randomizer to select the winner of the mystery small prize, and the winner is… http://bit.ly/9lBCg9!

  6. […] (2009) How We Decide or similar volumes as proposed by Raskin (see bonus link in an earlier post by Dr. V) would probably agree that, from a neoroscientific point of view, people tend to buy and/or use […]