Pulling teeth

Posted: October 27, 2011 in Social media advice :)
Tags:

So this title may not be entirely relevant, but I sometimes feel like social media immersion is like pulling teeth. Students who get it end up benefiting, though, and I guess that makes it worth while. Tonight’s class also felt like pulling teeth… I understand we’re all tired, and some of us sick, and sometimes life sucks, but hey, at least I get to complain on my blog. And on Twitter. Once again, my Twitter network comes to the rescue. I asked:

Here’s advice for you TECH 621 students. I met ALL of these people, btw, on Twitter.

And, in response to my thank you Tweet:

You ABSOLUTELY need to check out the Twitter workout [pdf] @conntess mentions. Try it for a week. See what happens.

I just need to remind myself that even though it feels like pulling teeth today, I may hear from you 3-4 years later with one of those notes that make it all worthwhile. Until then, please know that if you need a tooth pulled, I am here to help, patiently and lovingly. 🙂

Tweet away,

Dr. V

Comments
  1. hanjunxian says:

    It’s unbelievable that you have got so many responses in such a short time.

  2. Quincy Clark says:

    @conntess is very helpful! Thanks Dr. V for your continued support.

  3. Ah, Dr. V. I identify with you. I’ve just finished teaching e-PR at Notre Dame (Australia). Yes, some embrace it, some don’t. And that’s despite having four practitioners as guest speakers. For those that do, they will go on to bigger and better things. To coin as old cliche: “You can lead a horse to water … etc”.
    Regards,
    Dr. G
    @pr_doctor

    • Mihaela says:

      It makes me wonder what it is about Twitter that makes it so difficult. It does have a high barrier of entry and it takes a while to make sense of it…