How to document a comment YOU wrote on OTHER blogs

Posted: September 2, 2008 in Blog instructions
Tags: ,

If you post a comment on this blog, it’s OK if you don’t document it in a post on yours. I have it here, and I can count comments in my WP dashboard.

It’s very important that you do document comments you post on other blogs.

Here are step by step instructions:

  1. Create a new blog post, categorize it as Comment.
  2. The text of the blog post can be:

>>> Comment on Alyssa Maute‘s blog post “Chapter 1: What is PR”, August 28, 2008. <<<

Note the use of linking:

  • The word “comment” is linked to the comment’s permalink. You can access it by clicking the date next to a comment. Not all WP themes have this feature, for example on my blog comments don’t have permalinks, but Alyssa‘s do.
  • The name of the author (or the title of the blog) links to the blog’s URL
  • The title of the post links to the post’s permalink
  • The date is the date when you posted the comment

If you forgot the terms blog URL & permalink, please revisit these tutorials.

If you still don’t know how to insert a link, revisit this tutorial – please try to learn how to link by seeing my examples. No URL’s in my posts, just links from text.

If you have examples from your own blog and/or questions, please post them in the comments section below.

Comments
  1. Lee Anne says:

    I made a comment on Phil Gome’s video that we watched in class the other day. I was just going to see if you could check my blog to make sure that I linked everything correctly…I’m new at this!

  2. […] whenever you comment on someone’s PR blog (whether it’s a PR professional or a PR student), create a brief post with a link to your comment so I can assess your online participation. Do this only for PR-related […]